One to One: Subhash Tejura

Wednesday 08th February 2023 05:16 EST

Subhash Tejura was a refugee from Uganda in 1972, when Idi Amin declared that all Asians should leave the country. He and his wife Anjina were given asylum by Switzerland. The whole family was split up with some going to India and the others went to the UK. He later came to England to join his family. He left behind a successful business which included a Cinema, many properties and a family superstore. He moved to Leicester. He went onto working for the East Midlands Railway, then managing National Car Parks (NCP) and finally taking courses to become a Physiotherapy assistant.         

1)     Which place, or city or country do you most feel at home in?                                                        

Leicester welcomed me when I needed it most, and now this is my home. My heart is in Leicester, its multicultural environment and festivals remind me of India.  Leicester has everything to call it a home. It was also nice to see how the Uganda 50 years was celebrated in Leicester, the media got me involved with my story of what I left behind.             


2)     What are your proudest achievements?                                                                                               

Helping the community by volunteering with Mencap, Day centres and Social services.  My work involved socialising and giving personal care to the elderly and people with disabilities. I would help with foster children meeting their parents.  I wanted to give back the love Leicester gave me when I arrived in the country. I wanted to see smiles on these faces. I am also proud that I settled in Leicester and achieved so much in my life, I would never miss Uganda ever again.               


3)     What inspires you?                                                                                                                       

I like helping people, after seeing the brutality in Uganda when we had to flee, I said to myself "my life will be to support those in need". When I joined the NHS in physiotherapy, I had the opportunity to help those that had strokes and help get them back to recover as much as we could. It was inspiring seeing these people trying their hardest to get better.         


4)     What has been biggest obstacle in your career?                     

Leaving Uganda, my whole family was separated, I lost all my friends who I grew up with, everyone settled in different parts of the world. It was hard at the time, leaving everything behind and to rebuild a whole new life. Me and my wife had to find work and settle in a new country.      


5)     Who has been the biggest influence on your career to date?                                                        

My son Rakesh who has now passed away. He became disabled at the age of 7 and we as a family cared for him for 16 years till, he died. He changed our lives, this is what made me go into the NHS, I learnt so much medically. My wife went on to work for social services, he changed both our lives.                                                                                                                        




6)     What is the best aspect about your current role?                                                                                                            

I am retired now, but still carry on with voluntary work. I take the elderly on walks and transport them from their homes to community halls or temples. I am also a full-time grandparent which I really enjoy. I spent so much time building my life and working/volunteering, I missed how my younger son grew up, but I am making up for it with my grandson. I am always in the park with him playing sports or cycling.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

7)     And the worst?                                                                                                                

There is no worst, I miss working and meeting my colleagues but on the other hand I am happy being retired. I get so much done, I try to keep fit and being 70+ I think I am doing well.        


8)     What are your long-term goals?                                                                                                              

To continue to volunteer and help those that need it, I help charities to raise money for special causes. I want to continue keeping fit by going to the gym and keeping up with my yoga.            


9)     If you were Prime Minister, what one aspect would you change?                                                

I would like to improve our NHS service, give grants to the younger generation to become Doctors and nurses. We are relying on overseas workers, but we need to encourage our own. Students are struggling to afford the University costs, I would change this. Those who miss appointments should face a charge. We will only get people off waiting lists if there is some sort of order.          


10)  If you were marooned on a desert island, which historical figure would you like to spend your time with and why?        


To meet Narendra Modi and tell him he is doing a grand job, he has changed India in a very good way, I have been going for many years then to back after a 4-year gap it felt like I was in another country, it's developed so much. It’s great to see how much this man is doing for India. 

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter