Murji Chauhan

Wednesday 20th February 2019 06:34 EST

Murji Chauhan came to the United Kingdom at the age of 21 and had nothing to his name. He bought his first terraced house and soon expanded his business into a shop and house property. He had started off as a very small, one room shop, businessman, and then enlarged his business as a tailors and a fabric/textiles retailer called Kacha Tailors which was the first Tailors shop in Leicester. Murji also managed to help settle his younger brother in the country. He did this all without knowing the English language or even being able to count, which goes to show anything can be achieved with the right mindset. He also had his son educated to a degree level.

1 Which place, or city or country do you most feel at home in?

I feel most at home in my house next door to my shop. I have lived in the house for a very long time, and over the years made the house a home. I do, however, miss the country of my birth, India, and my first house at 73 Buller Road. The United Kindom has given me alot therefore I would proudly say that this is my home place and there is nothing like Leicester where I established myself.

2 What are your proudest achievements?

My proudest achievement is settling in a foreign country without knowing the language, and earning a living, as well as earning the respect of the public.

3 What inspires you?

My biggest inspiration are the compliments I receive from my customers, which motivates me to continue to do well.

4 What has been biggest obstacle in your career?

The biggest obstacle in my career is not being able to speak English, which can be a barrier in communicating with some English-speaking customers. And also another biggest obstacle in my career was the lack of financial support available to me. Therefore I was not always able to buy the best machinery in order to complete the jobs that I was undertaking. In order to complete the jobs, I had to be using my practical knowledge.

5 Who has been the biggest influence on your career to date?

The biggest influence in my career has been my wife's support. Without my wife's support, I would not be able to achieve the things I have accomplished and achieved in my own life.

6 What is the best aspect about your current role?

The best aspect about my current role is that I am able to please my customers. Also customer's writing great reviews about me and my business on the internet.

7 And the worst?

There is nothing bad about what I currently do.

8 What are your long term goals?

My long term goal is to continue to help and assist younger members of my family to achieve their goals in life.

9 If you were Prime Minister, what one aspect would you change?

If I was the Prime Minister, I would not let Brexit happen, as this has a lot of implications on the economy and effects day to day life.

10 If you were marooned on a desert island, which historical figure would you like to spend your time with and why.

I don’t have anyone in particular that comes to mind at this moment.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter