Lanka president opens second session of parliament

Wednesday 09th May 2018 05:57 EDT

Colombo: Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena has opened the second session of the eighth parliament on Tuesday. Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe and the President arrived at the parliament for the ceremony. The President was earlier received at the main steps of the Parliament building by the Speaker and the Secretary-General of Parliament.

This was followed by the Breaking of the Presidential Standard, a guard of honour, the singing of the national anthem and a 21 gun salute. The President then proceeded to the Parliament building accompanied by the Speaker and Secretary-General and escorted by the serjeant-at-arms.

After the ringing of the Quorum Bell, all members of parliament took their seats in the chambers of the parliament. The Secretary-General of Parliament read out the proclamations issued by

the President proroguing the house and summoning the meeting. President Sirisena then addressed the Parliament.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter