Virat, Mithali on ICC awards list

Wednesday 17th December 2014 06:48 EST

Indian batsman Virat Kohli was nominated for the ICC One-Day International (ODI) Cricketer of the year while India women's captain Mithali Raj was nominated for two awards -the ICC Women's ODI as well as T20I Cricketer of the Year. However, no other Indian was selected for any of the other major award categories of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Kohli will be competing for the award against South Africans Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn, who have also been shortlisted. De Villiers won the award in 2010 while Kohli won it in 2012. For the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year award, two former winners have been shortlisted -England captain Charlotte Edwards, winner in 2008, and two-time winner Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies. They are joined by No.1 ranked batter Mithali Raj and England wicketkeeper-batter Sarah Taylor.
There will be a new winner of the Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year after the previous two awards were won by England's Taylor. The players shortlisted this year are Edwards of England, Meg Lanning of Australia, India's Mithali and West Indies' Taylor.
Mithali is one of the seven cricketers who have been nominated for two awards. The others are de Villiers, Edwards, Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara and Taylor.
Dhoni, Kohli, Shami in ICC ODI Team
India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Kohli and pacer Mohammed Shami were included in the prestigious ICC One-Day International (ODI) Team of the Year 2014 while Rohit Sharma also got into the list as the 12th man.
However, Indian cricketers also had to face disappointment as none were named in the ICC Test Team of the Year 2014. Dhoni has been selected in the ODI Team for the eighth time, seventh year in a row, and the fifth year that he has been appointed captain. Players previously selected in the team are AB de Villiers (2010, 2011 and 2013), Kohli (2012) and Ajantha Mendis (2009).
Meanwhile, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews has been named captain of the Test side that also includes two more Sri Lankans in Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath. This is the seventh time since 2006 that Sangakkara has been selected in the Test team. He missed out in 2009 and 2013. Dale Steyn has also been selected for a record seventh successive year while teammate de Villiers has been selected for the fifth time (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014). Stuart Broad (2009, 2011 and 2012) and Mitchell Johnson (2009) are the other players who have previously been included in the Test team..

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter