Voting to select BBC Indian sportswoman of the year begins

Wednesday 23rd February 2022 06:38 EST

Public voting to select the nominees for the third edition of the BBC Indian sportswoman (ISWOTY) of the year has begun. The five shortlisted by a distinguished jury of sports journalists, experts and sportswriters are: Aditi Ashok, golfer; Avani Lekhara, para-shooter; Lovlina Borgohain, boxer; P V Sindhu, shuttler and Saikhom Mirabai Chanu, weightlifter. Online voting will remain open until 28th February and the winner will be announced on 28th March 2022, at an awards ceremony in Delhi. 

Liliane Landor, Senior Controller of BBC News International services and Director of BBC World
Service say: “We’re proud that the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year award continues to highlight the extraordinary achievements of sportswomen in India. This year’s nominees are inspirational women and leaders in their respective sports.  All deserve to be victorious, but it’s up to our audiences to vote across our platforms and crown the winner.”

Rupa Jha, Head of India, BBC News, says: “I am so delighted to reveal the names of the nominees.
Each edition of the BBC ISWOTY nomination has sprung up some new names. The five nominees
this year represent a wide range of sports from a golfer to a Paralympian, the shining stars of Indian
sports are here to be celebrated.”
The awards ceremony will also honour a legendary sportswoman with the BBC Lifetime Achievement Award, and a young female player will be named as the BBC Emerging Player of the Year.
Last year’s BBC Lifetime Achievement award winner, Anju Bobby George, expressed hope at the current situation of Indian sports and said: “India is doing enough to promote talented sportswomen, now things are changing. Infrastructure is being built, however, we need well-qualified coaches. Parents also want to send their children to pursue sports, but sometimes there are safety issues.”

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter