TAL Premier League Cricket tournament

Wednesday 22nd August 2018 07:35 EDT

Telugu Association of London has conducted its TAL Premier League (TPL) Cricket Tournament this year. The matches was played on 18th August at Imperial College London, Heston Sports Ground, Crane Lodge Road, Cranford, Middlesex, TW5 9PQ. The final match was played between Cool Cruisers and March Side Kings while the third place match was played between Blue Caps and United Titans.

Championship winners

'Cool Cruisers' under the captaincy of Sharath Putta won the championship. The runner up trophy went to 'March Side Kings' led by Sunny. 3rd Place: 'United Titans' captained by Rakesh Patel won the third place. The winners of other trophies are - Man of the Series: Pavan Kumar CH, Best Bowler: Pavan Kumar CH and Best Batsman: Pavan Kumar CH.

A number of other games, fun activities and entertainments were arranged for families and children. Over 200 people, including women, children and elderly attended the event. The event began with National Anthems of both India and Britain. The event also paid homage to all freedom fighters. Local MP Seema Malhotra gave away awards to the winners.

Speaking at the event, TAL Sports Trustee Murali Thadiparthi appreciated and thanked TPL Committee members Sunil Nagandla, Vamsee Recknor, Shyam Bheemreddy, Sridhar Somisetty and Vamshi Ponnam (logistical support) for their whole-round support and dedication. Murali said that TAL Premier League is the biggest T20 Cricket League that is being organised globally by a community organisation. This year 12 teams played over 14 weeks in complete sportsmanship.

TAL Chairman Sridhar Medichetty thanked the TPL Advisors such as Ravi Sabba, Sanjay Bhiraju, Sharat Jetty and all the volunteers for their support in the smooth conduct of the tournament. Sridhar Medichetty said that TAL was formed in 2005 with a motto “unite, cherish and share" to serve Telugu community in Britain.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter