Morgan to lead 16-member squad for T20I series

Wednesday 17th February 2021 05:39 EST

England have named a 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20 international series against India, to be played in Ahmedabad in March. Limited overs captain Eoin Morgan will lead a side full of T20 specialists. "The touring party will depart Chennai on 26 February and will play five T20 internationals in Ahmedabad," ECB said on its website.

Apart from Morgan, all-rounder Ben Stokes, experienced wicket-keeper batsmen Jos Buttler and Jonny Bairstow and top order batsman Dawid Malan comprise a strong line-up. Jofra Archer, the Curran brothers (Sam and Tom), Adil Rashid and Mark Wood are expected to lead the bowling artillery. England have also named two reserve players.

England T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Surrey), Mark Wood (Durham).

Reserves: Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire).

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter