India win T20 series against England

Wednesday 11th July 2018 07:32 EDT

India opener Rohit Sharma struck an unbeaten century to power his team to a seven-wicket victory against England in the 3rd T20I at Bristol on Sunday. India lost Shikhar Dhawan (5) early in 199 chase but Rohit Sharma along with KL Rahul steadied the Indian ship with a 41-run partnership. However, KL Rahul (19) perished in search of quick runs. India captain Virat Kohli, who departed for 43 runs, kept the scoreboard ticking from one side and Rohit blasted the bowlers from the other end. Chris Jordan broke the 89-run partnership between Rohit and Kohli but it was too late as Rohit had done enough damage. India reached the target with eight balls to spare.

Earlier, Jason Roy and Jos Buttler stitched a solid 94-run opening stand as England posted 198/9. Roy scored 67 runs off 31 balls, while Buttler smashed a 21-ball 34 to give England a solid start. Apart from Roy and Buttler, Alex Hales (30 off 24 balls) and Jonny Bairstow (25 off 14 balls) chipped in with valuable runs. For India, Hardik Pandya was the wrecker-in-chief with figures of 4 for 38 in his allotted 4 overs. Siddarth Kaul claimed two wickets, while Umesh Yadav and Deepak Chahar, who made his international debut on Sunday, took one wicket apiece. Mahendra Singh Dhoni added another feather to his hat as he became the first wicketkeeper to take 50 catches in T20Is. With five catches in the third T20I, Dhoni also became the first wicketkeeper to take five catches in a T20I match.

Brief scores: England 198/9 (20), India 201/3 (18.4)

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter