India fourth in medal standings at CWG

Wednesday 10th August 2022 08:04 EDT

With 22 gold medals, 16 silver and 23 bronze, the star athletes of India proudly marked themselves in the multi-sport event. From table tennis to badminton to wrestling, India's medal tally at the Commonwealth games 2022 reached a total of 61 by grabbing 4th position in the medal standings.

The star athletes of India had already taken a center stage. Few have marked themselves (read weightlifters) while the others are en route to glory. India in the previous 18 appearances in Commonwealth Games have won over 500 medals including 181 gold medals. Their best performance came in the 2010 CWG which was held in India. They won 101 medals in 2010 and were second in the overall medal tally that year.

List of Indian medal winners:

India's Tejaswin Shankar has become the first ever Indian to win a CWG medal in the high jump. With the win, Tejaswin has opened the Indian athletics team's medal account with a bronze in the men's high jump event. With Tejasvin, Saurav Ghosal has also won India's first ever singles medal (bronze) in squash while Indian judoka Tulika Mann settled for a silver in the women's 78 kg category.

India's weightlifter Lovepreet Singh won a bronze in the men's 109 kg category. Lovepreet Singh had broken his own national record with a total of 355 kg lift in the category. After claiming the first gold in Lawn Bowls, India bagged another gold at the table tennis. India's Lawn Bowls women's fours team made history by winning gold. This is India's first medal in the Lawn Bowls event, and the Indian team comprising skipper Rupa Rani Tirkey, Lovely Choubey, Pinki, and Nayanmoni Saikia, ended up winning the title itself after beating 2018 silver medallist South Africa.

India's Sudhir has won a gold in the men's heavyweight para powerlifting event. Sudhir, an Asian Para Games bronze medallist lifted 208 kg in his first attempt before increasing it to 212 kg in his second effort to gather 13.4 points and break the games record.

Indian wrestlers Sakshi Malik, Bajrang Punia, and Deepak Punia increased India's gold medal haul. On the other hand, India's Anshu Malik clinched silver after losing to Nigeria's Odunayo Folasade in the women's 57 kg final while Divya Kakran and Mohit Grewal won a bronze medal each.

Indian badminton player, PV Sindhu clinched gold in badminton. She defeated Canada's Michelle Li in the final.

India's women's hockey team after a long gap of 16 years returned to the podium, defeating New Zealand via a thrilling tie-breaker in the bronze medal playoff. Indian women's cricket team, however, had to settle for the silver after losing to Australia by 9 runs.

On the other hand, Commonwealth games 2022 turned out to be quite exhilarating with three gold medals in boxing and the unusual sight of three young men almost pulling off an unprecedented clean sweep of medals in the triple jump.

List gold medal winners:

Mirabai Chanu (weightlifting), Jeremy Lalrinnunga (weightlifting), Anchita Sheuli (weightlifting), Indian Women Lawn Bowls Team, Harmeet Desai (men’s table tennis), Sudhir (men's heavyweight para powerlifting), Sakshi Malik (wrestling), Deepak Punia (wrestling), Vinesh Phogat (wrestling), Naveen (men’s freestyle 74 kg wrestling), Bhavina Patel (para table tennis), Ravi Kumar Dahiya (wrestling), Nitu Ghanghas (boxing), Amit Panghal (boxing), Eldhose Paul (triple jump), Nikhat Zareen (boxing), Sharath Kamal and Akula Sreeja (table tennis mixed team), PV Sindhu (badminton), Bajrang Punia (wrestling), Lakshya Sen (badminton), Sharath Kamal (table tennis), Chirag Chandrashekhar Shetty and Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy (men's double badminton).

Silver Medal:

Bindyarani Devi (weightlifting), Sanket Mahadev Sargar (weightlifting), L Sushila Devi (Judo), Vikas Thakur (weightlifting), Badminton Mixed Team, Tulika Mann (Judo), Murali Sreeshankar (long jump), Anshu Malik (wrestling), Priyanka Goswami (race walk), Avinash Sable ( steeplechase), Indian Men Lawn Bowls, Abdulla Aboobacker (triple jump), Sharath Kamal and G Sathiyan (table tennis),
women's cricket team, Sagar Ahlawat (boxing), Indian Men's Hockey Team.

Bronze Medal:

Gururaja Poojary (weight category), Vijay Kumar Yadav (weight category), Harjinder Kaur (weightlifting), Lovepreet Singh (weightlifting), Saurav Ghosal (squash), Gurdeep Singh (weightlifting), Tejaswin Shankar (high jump), Divya Kakran (freestyle wrestling), Mohit Grewal (wrestling), Deepak Nehra (wrestling), Pooja Gehlot (wrestling), Pooja Sihag (wrestling), Mohammed Hussamuddin (boxing), Rohit Tokas (boxing), Sonalben Manubhai Patel (table tennis), Jaismine Lamboria (boxing), Indian Women Hockey, Sandeep Kumar (race walk), Annu Rani (javelin throw), Badminton Women's Double, Squash Mixed Doubles, G. Sathiyan (table tennis), Kidambi Srikanth (badminton).

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter