Schedule of Indian team at ICC Cricket World Cup

Wednesday 15th May 2019 06:59 EDT

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be held in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14. The 12th edition of the mega event will see a total of 10 teams participating. The participating teams will face each other in a round-robin format and top four teams will qualify for semifinals. Indian team comes into the tournament as one of the strong contenders and is tipped to make it to semifinals at least.

Virat Kohli will lead the Indian team. This will be Kohli’s third World Cup as a player and apparently, first as a captain. Ahead of the main tournament, India will face New Zealand and Bangladesh in the warm-up matches on 25 and 28 May respectively. India’s campaign begins on June 5 and the Men in Blue will play their last round-robin match on July 6.

India's schedule:

Date Time (IST)MatchVenue

5 June 3 pm India vs South AfricaHampshire Bowl, Southampton

9 June 3 pm India vs AustraliaThe Oval, London

13 June 3 pm India vs New ZealandTrent Bridge, Nottingham

16 June 3 pm India vs PakistanOld Trafford, Manchester

22 June 3 pm India vs AfghanistanHampshire Bowl, Southampton

27 June 3 pm India vs West IndiesOld Trafford, Manchester

30 June 3 pm India vs EnglandEdgbaston, Birmingham

2 July 3 pm India vs BangladeshEdgbaston, Birmingham

6 July 3 pm India vs Sri LankaHeadingley, Leeds

Indian squad

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik (wk), KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja.

Indian team has won Cricket World Cup twice in 1983 under Kapil Dev and in 2011 under MS Dhoni. In the last edition in 2015, India made it to the semi-finals and lost to eventual champions Australia.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter