Kolkata to host 2016 World T20 Finals

Wednesday 22nd July 2015 08:29 EDT

The final of the 2016 World Twenty20 Cricket tournament is settled to be held in India's iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Other venues will be Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and Delhi for the March 11 to April 3 event.

“BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches,” said board secretary Anurag Thakur. “With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event.”

BCCI's general manager, cricket operations, MV Sridhar, has been appointed tournament director for the World T20. Former Bihar left-arm spinner Prasad Rao has been appointed manager, cricket operations while Neeraj Kumar, the former Delhi Police commissioner, will be Director of Security and Anti-Corruption Security Unit. Other members of the organising committee are, Amrit Mathur (principal coordinator), RP Shah (tournament manager, finance), Mayank Parikh (manager, logistics and hospitality) and Nishant Arora (tournament media manager). BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya will head the managing committee for the 16-team tournament featuring 10 test playing nations and six associate teams.

India last hosted the tournament in 2011, along with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and proceeded to win the tournament.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter