Kohli, K L Rahul back in Indian squad for Asia cup

Wednesday 10th August 2022 08:05 EDT

Former skipper Virat Kohli and a fit-again KL Rahul returned to a 15-member Indian squad for the Asia Cup while senior pacer Jasprit Bumrah missed out owing to a back injury.
The Asia Cup will be held in Dubai and Sharjah from August 27 to September 11. Rahul, who did not feature in the T20 series against the West Indies due to Covid-19, has recuperated from his sports hernia surgery, and is back as vice-captain.

The notable names dropped from the main squad are batter Shreyas Iyer and left-arm spinner Axar Patel. Seamer Deepak Chahar, who has had a four-month lay-off due to a hamstring tear and a back injury was also among reserves. The other absentee from the squad was pacer Harshal Patel, owing to a rib injury. “Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection owing to injuries. They are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru,” the BCCI said.

Coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma, along with the five-member selection committee, have identified the core 20 players going ahead and it is only logical that there won’t be any massive changes by the time the T20 World Cup-bound squad is announced. The 15 for the Asia Cup, the three standbys and the two injured players (Bumrah and Harshal) are now the core team.

While Axar, who has been in fine form of late could feel a bit shortchanged, the presence of four spinners Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Bishnoi and Yuzvendra Chahal meant that there wasn’t a space for a fifth slow bowler.

Since the matches will be held on the slower tracks in the UAE, there are only three specialist pacers in the side in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh, with Hardik Pandya being the fourth pacer in the attack.

Indian squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan. Standbys: Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter