5 top Indian cricketers awarded with MCC life membership

Wednesday 12th April 2023 06:14 EDT

Five top Indian cricketers - MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami - were awarded with life membership of the prestigious Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). The MCC announced the addition of 19 new Honorary Life Members, including eight Test Playing nations. Some of the best men and women players to ever play the game receive honorary life memberships from the London-based club that establishes the game's regulations.
This year's list has former players from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies in addition to five each from India and England.
Dhoni led India to famous triumphs in the 2007 ICC World T20 and the 2011 ICC World Cup, while Yuvraj was an integral part of both the teams, churning out match-winning performances. Raina scored over 5,500 ODI runs across a 13-year career.
Julan Goswami is the highest wicket-taker in Women's ODIs, but Mithali tops the list of run scorers with 7,805 runs in 211 innings. Goswami withdrew from international cricket after the final ODI against England at Lord's last year.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter