India - NZ first test ends in draw

Wednesday 01st December 2021 08:42 EST

The first Test between India and New Zealand in Kanpur ended in a draw after bad light forced umpires to call early stumps on Day 5. Debutant Rachin Ravindra and Ajaz Patel were the last New Zealand pair out in the middle as the visitors managed 165-9 at stumps on the final day.

The day started off with New Zealand requiring 280 runs to win and India needing nine wickets. The Kiwis kicked-off the action on a good note, forcing the hosts to return wicketless in the opening session. Opener Tom Latham along with night watchman William Somerville added 76 runs, helping their side reach 79/1 at lunch on Day 5.

However, India bounced back in the second session as Umesh Yadav dismissed Somerville on 36 in the first ball, courtesy to a brilliant effort by Shubman Gill in fine-leg. Williamson then joined Latham in the middle, who completed his 50 before getting out by Ashwin on 52. With the wicket, the carrom ball specialist overtook veteran cricketer Harbhajan Singh and now stands as the third-highest wicket-taker among the Indian bowlers in the red-ball format.

India then started the final session picking wickets in quick succession. It all began with Ravindra Jadeja removing Ross Taylor in the final ball right before Tea. Soon after the break, New Zealand started losing wickets in clusters as Axar Patel removed Henry Nicholls on 1. Jadeja then dismissed New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson LBW on 24, handing India the much-needed advantage. Tom Blundell then lost his wicket in a rather unfortunate way after the batter played the ball off Ashwin back on the pitch but it hit one of the footmark and skid back on to the stumps. Kyle Jamieson and Tim Southee were the last two New Zealand batters to be dismissed.

Earlier, India had grabbed a 49-run first-innings lead after Axar Patel registered figures of 5/62. In reply to India's total of 345, New Zealand were all out for 269. In the second innings India declared at 234/7 in 81 overs.

Brief Scores:

India: 345 and 234/7 declared. New Zealand: 269 and 165 for 9 in 98 overs (Tom Latham 52, William Somerville 36; Ravichandran Ashwin 3/35, Ravindra Jadeja 4/40).

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter