Karunanidhi re-elected DMK president for 11th time

Friday 16th January 2015 04:33 EST

Chennai: Former Tamil Nadu chief minister M Karunanidhi was unanimously re-elected as DMK president for 11th time a general council meeting of the party. The general council also re-elected K Anbazhagan as party general secretary and Karunanidhi's son M K Stalin as treasurer.

The month-long organizational polls covering party's 65 districts have come to an end with the elections to the key posts. The members erupted in joy by clapping hands and raising slogans in praise of the trio, when senior leader and party election commissioner Sarguna Pandian announced the election results.

Later, Karunanidhi announced the appointment of his daughter and Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi as women's wing secretary. Former PWD minister and DMK leader S Duraimurugan has been elevated as principal secretary, hitherto held by senior leader Arcot N Veerasamy. Sarguna Pandian, V P Duraisamy, I Periyasamy and Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan have been made deputy secretaries. The party has also announced Trichy N Siva and former telecom minister A Raja as its propaganda secretaries.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter