Karnataka not to allow entry of people from three states

Tuesday 19th May 2020 15:49 EDT

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa said that people from Gujarat, Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu will not be allowed in the state till May 31. State road transport corporation buses in Karnataka and private buses will run. Strict lockdown measures in containment zones and economic activities will be permitted in other areas. Sundays will be total lockdown across the state. Home quarantine will be strengthened, he added. The Chief Minister said that all shops will be allowed to open and all trains running within the state will be permitted. The central government on Sunday extended the nationwide lockdown till May 31, but with a set of new relaxations commencing from Monday. The Union Home Ministry has also given powers to States/UTs demarcate areas in Green, Orange and Red zones, which will allow them to start activities except in containment zones.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter