Former Karnataka CMs booked for sedition

Wednesday 04th December 2019 06:33 EST

The Bengaluru city police filed sedition and defamation cases against former Karnataka chief ministers H D Kumaraswamy and Siddaramaiah besides several others, for allegedly obstructing income tax (IT) officials from discharging their duties during the Lok Sabha elections. Besides these two political leaders, former Bengaluru City Police Commissioner T Suneel Kumar and his then subordinates were also mentioned in the FIR filed by activist A Mallikarjun, a resident of Tumkur. The complaint also named former Deputy CM G Parameshwara, Kanakapura MLA D K Shivakumar, KPCC president Dinesh Gundu Rao, JD(S) MLAs DC Thammanna, Shivalinge Gowda, Sa Ra Mahesh, disqualified MLA Munirathna Naidu, and 10 other politicians from Congress and JD(S).

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter