BJP, Cong win 2 seats each in Karnataka Upper House polls

Wednesday 22nd June 2022 06:45 EDT

Bengaluru: The ruling BJP continues to have a majority in the Karnataka Legislative Council, as the party managed to win one teachers' and graduates' constituency each in the recently held biennial elections, while the Congress too managed to win one each.

The results are seen as a setback for the JDS as the party lost both the seats it represented last time and did not win any fresh seat; while for Congress it is a two seats gain, as none of the four seats that went to polls were held by the party before going for polls.

Though the ruling BJP has managed to win two of the four seats that went for poll and maintain its majority in the upper house, the party faced a setback with the defeat of its MLC Arun Shahapur, who was seeking re-election from one of the teachers' constituencies.

With the outcome of poll results, the 75-member Legislative Council will have 39 BJP members, 27 Congress and eight JDS, and one independent member.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter