Andhra Pradesh gets 13 new districts

Wednesday 06th April 2022 06:39 EDT

Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh got a new administrative map on Monday, with the creation of 13 new districts that doubled their number to 26, in a massive overhaul that the state government said will improve governance and delivery of services.

Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy launched the new districts at a virtual ceremony in the morning, following an "auspicious muhurat" time set by Vedic priests. The creation of more districts is meant to be a step in the decentralised development of all regions, he said.

The decentralisation of the government has been among the top-billed priorities of the YSR Congress government which had announced the creation of village secretariats as well. Jagan, while campaigning for the 2019 assembly elections, had promised that his party, if voted to power, would make each of the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies a district.

Each of the districts is now the same as the parliamentary constituencies except Araku that is going to be split into two districts as the Chief Minister reportedly wants a higher focus on the backward tribal areas.

"With the formation of smaller districts - distance from the district centre to remote and border villages will be reduced... District administration will come closer to the people... Increased accountability as the Government comes closer to people," the government said in a statement.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter