Six BJP MPs from Gujarat find place in Modi 3.0 govt

Wednesday 12th June 2024 08:40 EDT

Six MPs from Gujarat have been included in the Modi 3.0 govt. Amit Shah, J P Nadda, S Jaishankar, C R Paatil and Mansukh Mandaviya were sworn in as cabinet rank ministers, while Nimuben Bambhaniya, who won from Bhavnagar, was sworn in as minister of state. Seven MPs from Gujarat each were part of the Modi 1.0 and Modi 2.0 govts.
Amit Shah has played a pivotal role in the growth of the saffron party in the state. Widely accepted as the second most influential figure in the country after PM Modi, 59-year-old Shah secured his second consecutive LS victory from the Gandhinagar seat by a margin over 700,000 votes.
BJP president J P Nadda, 63, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat earlier this year, was also among those who were sworn in as cabinet rank minister.
S Jaishankar, 69, served as India’s foreign secretary during the first tenure of the Modi government. He took charge as the country’s external affairs minister in 2019 and presently represents Gujarat in Parliament from the Rajya Sabha.
Gujarat BJP president CR Paatil won his fourth term as MP from Navsari.
Mansukh Mandaviya, 51, who oversaw India's Covid-19 vaccination in the capacity of Union health minister, was also included in the Modi 3.0 govt.

Nimuben Bambhaniya, who won her maiden LS election from Bhavnagar, is a teacher by profession and has been elected thrice in the Bhavnagar city local body.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter