New governors for 12 states, LG in Ladakh changed

Wednesday 15th February 2023 06:17 EST

The President has appointed governors in 12 states and a new LG in Ladakh in a significant restructuring of the governorship pack that included the selection of retired Supreme Court judge Justice S Abdul Nazeer as the governor of Andhra Pradesh. Six of the 13 are fresh faces, including Lakshman Prasad Acharya, C. P. Radhakrishnan, Shiv Pratap Shukla, and Gulab Chand Kataria, all of whom are BJP leaders. They were chosen to serve as governors of Assam, Jharkhand and Sikkim.
Nazeer was part of the five judge bench that unanimously decided in 2019 to give the contentious Ayodhya site for the construction of Ram temple. He is the second apex court judge to have been appointed governor by the Modi government.
4 BJP leaders, including 2 from UP, were also appointed
The exit of Maharashtra governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, who has been replaced by Jharkhand governor Ramesh Bais, has been on the cards because of the controversies he generated with his ill- thought out statements and is expected to help plug a potential vulnerability of the ruling saffron alliance ahead of the crucial BMC polls.
Another important appointment was of Brahmin face from Gorakhpur region in Uttar Pradesh Shiv Prasad Shukla as governor of Himachal Pradesh and BJP leader from Rajasthan, Gulab Chand Kataria, being assigned the Raj Bhawan responsibility in Assam. The government sources also rejected the narrative that it doesn't rope in minorities in the distribution of responsibilities as four minorities have been elevated to Raj Bhawans including Nazeer and Arif Mohammad Khan (Kerala) who are Muslims, whereas Kataria is Jain and Lt Gen Gurmeet Singh (Uttarakhand) a Sikh.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter