MSY and Zakir Hussain among Padma awardees

Wednesday 01st February 2023 06:15 EST

Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav, iconic architect Balkrishna Doshi and pioneer of ORS Dilip Mahalanabis have been posthumously awarded Padma Vibhushan, India’s second-highest civilian award. Other recipients of the award are tabla maestro Zakir Hussain, mathematician Srinivasa Varadhan and former Union minister and Karnataka CM S M Krishna.
Padma Bhushan, the third highest civilian award, has been conferred on industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla, philanthropist and Infosys Foundation Chairperson Sudha Murty, playback singers Vani Jairam and Suman Kalyanpur, Kannada novelist and screenwriter S L Bhyrappa, Pune-based academic Deepak Dhar, Telangana-based erudite Vedic scholar Swami Chinna Jeeyar, spiritual leader Kamlesh D Patel and former Pro-Vice Chancellor of JNU Kapil Kapoor.
On the Padma Shri list is late business magnate and ace investor Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, Bollywood actress Raveena Tandon and RRR music director M M Keeravaani. Only recently, the ‘Naatu naatu’ from the blockbuster movie got the Golden Globe award for the best song and has now been nominated in ‘best original song" category of the Academy Awards (Oscar).
Former founder chairman of Rasna group Areez Khambatta (posthumous), mathematician of Super-30 programme fame Anand Kumar and former BJP Manipur state unit president and ex-Union minister Thounaojam Chaoba Singh are the other names in the list.
Eight people from Gujarat received Padma awards. Besides B V Doshi, who passed away on January 24, was posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award, while Areez Khambatta, the founder of Rasna, was posthumously awarded the Padma Shri.
Other awardees include Hemant Chauhan, Bhanubhai Chitara, Mahipat Kavi, Hirabai Lobi, Prof Mahendra Pal, and Paresh Rathwa.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter