Nitish Kumar - BJP govt in Bihar wins trust vote

Friday 28th July 2017 07:16 EDT

The Nitish Kumar-BJP government has won the trust vote in the Bihar assembly on Friday. In the floor trust the combine won 131 votes while the RJD-Congress combine got 108 votes. Nitish-BJP needed 122 votes to win the trust in the 243-member House.

In the Bihar Assembly, the RJD has 80 MLAs, the Congress 27 and the CPI-ML three, which adds up to 110. The Opposition got three short of that total. "Secularism should not be allowed to justify corruption," Nitish said earlier in the House, attempting to justify his resignation as CM and his break from the 'grand alliance' on Wednesday evening. A few hours after his resignation, the BJP and its allies told the Bihar governor that they would support Nitish. He was sworn in chief minister yet again on Thursday morning.

Nitish ended the 'grand alliance' of the Congress, RJD and JD (U) after the RJD's Tejashwi Yadav refused to quit after being named in a corruption case by the CBI. The BJP's Sushil Modi, who was sworn in as deputy chief minister, thanked the Opposition RJD and Congress for giving him the chance. He said, “if Tejashwi had resigned I would not have been here," Modi said.

Meanwhile, the Patna High Court will on Monday hear two PILs challenging formation of the new government. The petitions sought the court's order for issuance of a direction to invite the leader of the single largest party to form a government in the state. "The mandate was for the 'grand alliance', while Nitish and the BJP have insulted that mandate,"said Tejashwi.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter