69.89% voter turnout in Bengal

Thursday 06th June 2024 03:32 EDT

The 7th and final phase of Lok Sabha election in Bengal passed off peacefully on Saturday barring a few stray incidents. Elections were held in Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jadavpur, Mathurapur, Joynagar, Diamond Harbour, Kolkata South and Kolkata North seats. There was also a by-election for Baranagar Assembly seat. The seat fell vacant after Tapas Roy, MLA of Trinamul Congress left the party and joined the BJP. He is contesting against Sudip Bandyopadhyay of Trinamul Congress from Kolkata North seat for the Lok Sabha. The polling percentage in nine constituencies was recorded at 69.89 per cent. Basirhat Lok Sabha topped the list with 76.56 percentage. In Bengal, out nine LS constituencies, Basirhat topped the list with 76.56 per cent, followed by Mathurapur 74.13 per cent; Joynagar, 73.44 per cent, Diamond Harbour 72.87 per cent; Barasat 71.80 per cent; Dum Dum 67.60 per cent; Jadavpur 70.41 per cent; Kolkata South 60.88 per cent, Kolkata North 59.23 per cent.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter