BJP assigns 3 union ministers to Bengal

Wednesday 17th August 2022 07:56 EDT

Keen to defend the ground that BJP gained in West Bengal in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls with an unprecedented 18 of 42 parliamentary seats, the party leadership has already planned its moves for the 2024 contest with at least three Union ministers tasked to focus on the state. Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Smriti Irani and Jyotiraditya Scindia have been deputed for the state.
They have started taking stock of issues since BJP lost some ground and Mamata Banerjee’s TMC registered a landslide victory in the 2021 assembly polls for a third consecutive term in office. Others like Rajya Sabha MP Rakesh Sinha are also expected to be roped in later.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter