78.36% voting in Bengal phase 5 election

Wednesday 21st April 2021 07:19 EDT

In Phase 5 of assembly elections held in West Bengal on April 17, 45 constituencies in the districts of Jalpaiguri, Kalimpong, Darjeeling, and a segment of Nadia, North 24 Parganas, and Purba Bardhaman saw enthusiastic voter turnout. As many as 319 candidates, including 39 women were in the fray. The Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are the key players in the poll battle. Among the 45 constituencies, Maynaguri reported the highest turnout of voters with 85.65 per cent, while the Matigara-Naxalbari constituency recorded 81.65 per cent and Barasat recorded 77.71 per cent. Bidhanagar saw 61.10 per cent of voters and Siliguri saw 74.83 per cent turnout. Locals in Kurulgacha area of Deganga assembly constituency allege that Central Forces opened fire, but Barasat SP submits a report saying that the allegations were not based on facts.

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter