Kalaimamani awards for Vijay Sethupathi, Yuvan

Friday 01st March 2019 07:26 EST

This year, 201 artists from different walks of life have been conferred with the coveted Kalaimamani awards as the Tamil Nadu state government announced the honor after a brief hiatus of eight years. Vijay Sethupathi, composer Yuvan Shankar Raja, Priya Mani and several others won the award this year. Along with the awards, the government also announced Bharati award in the field of literature, Bala Saraswathi award in dance and MS Subbulakshmi award in the field of music.

Singers S Janaki, Bombay Sisters- C Saroja and C Lalitha and TV Gopalakrishnan have been conferred with the MS Subbulakshmi Award. In the film sector, nearly 12 actors and technicians have been named recipient of the prestigious awards. Vijay Sethupathi, Karthi, Sasikumar, Vijay Antony, Prasanna, Santhanam, Soori, composer Yuvan Shankar Raja, Priya Mani, cinematographers Rathnavelu and Ravi Varman and actor Srikanth received the awards. The honour will later be given away by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami. In a statement, the government said, “Each winning artist will receive a three sovereign gold shield and a certificate.”

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter