5 Indians in ICC’s under-19 WC team

Wednesday 07th February 2018 05:37 EST

Indians dominated the Under-19 World Cup team announced by the ICC, with five players from the triumphant side making it to the world eleven. India lifted a record fourth U-19 World Cup trophy after beating Australia in the final last week. The world team has the top three of the Indian batting line-up - captain Prithvi Shaw, player of the final Manjot Kalra and player of the tournament Shubman Gill. Left-arm spinner Anukul Roy and fast bowler Kamlesh Nagarkoti are the other Indians in the team. The team of the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup was picked by a five-person selection panel that comprised former Windies fast bowler Ian Bishop, former India women’s captain Anjum Chopra, former New Zealand captain Jeff Crowe, journalist Shashank Kishore and former Australia all-rounder Tom Moody.

The Team: Prithvi Shaw (India), Manjot Kalra (India), Shubman Gill (India), Finn Allen (NZ), Raynard van Tonder (SA, captain), Wandile Makwetu (wk) (SA), Anukul Roy (India), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India), Gerald Coetzee (SA), Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan); 12th man: Alick Athanaze (WI).

comments powered by Disqus

to the free, weekly Asian Voice email newsletter

We value your opinion!

Dear Readers,

Final year student of Journalism at the University of Westminster, Dipali Limbachia is currently gaining on-field work experience with us at Asian Voice and Gujarat Samachar. For better insight on the likes and dislikes of the readers, she has created a short survey.

- Please click on the link below and spend a couple of minutes to help her market research. http://www.abplgroup.com/AAA-Assets/R-D/Dipali-Limbachia

- Editor